Nom Nom Kids – Review & Recipe

*Disclaimer: we were sent 4 pouches for the purpose of a review. All opinions are honest and my own*




 How cute are they?!



We have been lucky enough to be sent some ‘Nom Nom Kids’ pouches to try out, a new addition to our foodie journey. They boast an easy to fill, easy to take out and about and easy to clean pouch that will take your baby from first foods to toddler snacks and possibly beyond! Add to that they’re a really cute and kid friendly design. 

And do you know what? They’re right! I’ve looked in to several different pouches and although I haven’t tried them all, I reckon these have got to be among the best. I’ve seen pouches need filling stations and little plunger type items to be able to fill them. The Nom Nom pouches have a large side opening, and are designed to stand steady on their side whilst being filled. No need for any special equipment, just a spoon will do. Note to self: put lid on first! Idiot! Once filled and sealed, with a really easy press and seal, there’s a handy spot to write down what’s inside. Especially handy for any childminders and for remembering what’s in the freezer!

On our first trial run we made a batch of Blackberry, Banana & Pear smoothie to take out for lunch (recipe found below) I was worried about the side seal being strong enough, especially when travelling around in the changing bag next to heavy tubs of sudocream, squashed by various toys and generally being thrown about. But I was pleased to find there were no leaks at all!



The only issue we found was giving the pouch to a 10 month old…that was completely user error and I should have seen it coming! Giving a squeezy pouch full of bright purple smoothie to a very small child was not a good idea! Practise is definitely needed for holding his own pouch, but used with a spoon they’ve been great.  As a side note I bought the Koko pouch spoons and they fit the Nom Nom pouches perfectly!



G getting a helping hand



But I think the best thing about these pouches is the cleaning. I cannot stress enough how much I HATE washing up in general, it’s possibly the main reason I wish I was able to breastfeed! And the thought of having to wash fiddly bits of pouch was enough to put me off, but these lovely things…..go in the dishwasher!! You honestly don’t know how happy this made me! After use I just rinse quickly and put them in the top drawer of the dishwasher and they’re sorted!

They’ve done great in the freezer, which is perfect for taking smoothies on a day out, I just take them out in the morning and they’ll have defrosted but still be cool by lunch. For a warm meal (cheesy pasta stars are a big favourite) simply stand the pouch in hot water until warmed through.



Filled and ready to go



Although I think these would have been used so much more had I discovered them at the start of weaning, first food purees, there is still plenty of use left for toddler snacks and even meals. I’m having a lot of fun coming up with new recipes and snacks to take out or enjoy at home. And they’ll definitely be coming on holiday with us, porridge for our early morning flight!



so handy to know what’s in there!



Blackberry, Banana & Pear Smoothie

1 cup frozen blackberries

1 small banana 

1 pear (I didn’t bother peeling, but I did core)

1/2 cup whole milk

Put all the ingredients into a food processor or blender, or use a hand blender, and blitz until smooth. 

This amount of milk makes quite a thick smoothie so add more if you prefer a thinner drink. 

Of course you can also use fresh berries, but we still had a stash from last seasons blackberry picking, and it makes a lovely refreshing summer slush smoothie. 



Blackberry, Banana & Pear Smoothie..yum!



 

Mrs H xxx

One thought on “Nom Nom Kids – Review & Recipe

Leave a comment