A Dodgy Leg, Too Much Tv and Saviour Parents…

Can it really be almost a week since my last post, and only a Silent Sunday post at that?! My New Years resolution of at least one post a week already seems troubled! 

Recently though, I’ve really struggled to sit down and write anything as I’ve just been feeling rather down and a bit uninspired by everything. Sorry for myself is probably the phrase I would use. Or just sulky!

  

plaster off – not quite the “new boots” I wanted

  

As some of you may know I injured my leg just before Christmas, luckily it wasn’t broken, just ligament damage, however it’s left me quite limited in my abilities, for one at least. I’ve been wearing a splint boot so physical activity has been hindered. Not only has this meant that days out or activities have been axed, it also means what I’ve been able to do around the house has been limited too. 

This week Mr H has been busy in work, so it’s just been me and a toddler most of the time. No option of transport and no possibility of me walking anywhere. There was next to no chance of us getting out of the house anyway but the weather cemented the fact that we were going to be house bound for a little while at least.

It’s not brilliant being housebound without a choice anyway, it’s even less fun when you have to keep a small hurricane amused too! 

organised chaos

I have invented lots of fun ‘games’ which, to his credit, G has humoured me greatly! Most of these games are a thinly veiled disguise of playing fetch. I realise that this is something intended for our four legged doggy friends, however desperate times call for desperate measures! There have also been several “can you pass mummy the….green train/dinosaur/orange block” games which he doesn’t tire too easily of. As well as driving the trains over mummy’s head games, which I’ve endured for as long as possible as it seems to really make him laugh. Mostly when I’m yelling in pain when my hair has got caught in a wheel. Again.

assessing the new Mr Tumble episodes

We’ve also watched more telly than is recommended for an almost 2 year old. But that’s never really bothered me. We often watch it together and talk and learn about different things. And he can dance along to lots of songs too, as well as jumping, waving, moving about and even yoga. I really recommend CBeebies for a great range of educational and fun shows for preschoolers. It’s been a great teaching prompt for me, especially whilst I’ve been limited in my movement. 

The house itself has suffered greatly whilst I’ve been out of action. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not great at keeping the house tidy anyway, but with the craziness of Christmas and New Year and my limping about tiring easily, the house has suffered more than ever! To the extent that we couldn’t even use the table to sit and craft, let alone eat at. 
My angel of a mother came around on Thursday and helped clean and tidy the whole house top to bottom! She even cleaned the oven! I don’t know where we’d be without her and my Dad, especially since the accident and Mr H being back in work. 
They’ve been invaluable, making sure that we’re fed, doing laundry for us and most importantly with childcare for G. Even my Dad has had a full Sunday on his own with G whilst I was at work! I knew he could, but the confidence, or indeed the need hasn’t been there. 
Unfortunately for him there’s no excuse now! Though I don’t think he’d ever complain about a day playing trains with his little best mate.
 

all hands on deck!

 

Now that mum has helped tidy everything away, I’m really looking forward to some craft projects with G this week. Nothing structured, just messy fun. I’m sure we’ve got an unused Toucan Box stashed away too.
And as my leg keeps improving I’m hoping that some trips out are in our near future. I’m even craving a trip to a soft play! At least there I can mostly watch as he burns off some energy. I just need to work on getting there, and being able to chase him when it’s time to go! 

 G gets to spend some of this weekend with his other grandparents Nan and Pops, his beloved Uncle H and his ‘big’ cousin (who’s 14 months older than him), so I’m really happy that he’ll be out and about getting some much needed fresh air and a change of scenery. 

I’ll be in work, but planning for a much more positive week ahead and some new games! 

What do you with your children on rainy days or days you can’t leave the house?

Mrs H xxx

15 thoughts on “A Dodgy Leg, Too Much Tv and Saviour Parents…

  1. It’s bad enough being stuck indoors due to the rain but with a poorly leg too! It lovely that he can help fetch things and polish too. Mums are fab (dads too of course) but they can just come in do it all without any awkwardness etc Hope you get better soon.

    Like

  2. Aw no your poor leg 😦 I really hope you get well soon. Your little boy looks like hes having lots of fun so I wouldn’t worry yourself…enjoy lazy days in with your son and I never need an excuse to skimp on the housework so enjoy it lol x

    Like

  3. Oh I don’t envy you being stuck in the house. We have a hurricane of a 19 month old and I can’t imagine not being able to just get outside to burn off some energy. I hope you’re recovering well now x

    Like

  4. You poor thing being stuck in the house, can’t have been easy. We have a hurricane 19-month-old and it’s so much easier to scoop him up and go out to burn some energy than entertain him in the house. I hope you’re recovering now x

    Like

  5. Must be so difficult looking after a toddler with an injured leg. They are such whirlwinds at that age. I’m not surprised you had no motivation to blog… hope you are managing to get some time to relax and recover. x

    Like

  6. God it must have been a hell of boringness love. If I could fricking drive I’d have bought Joni over so they could belt each other’s heads with toy trains! Hopefully Friday or next Friday when you can get up the stairs! Xxx

    Like

Leave a comment