Beauty and the Beast – Everyman Festival

a very talented young cast

I wrote before about how important the theatre is to me and my family, so i was very excited to have the chance to take G to the Everyman Festival to see their junior production of Beauty and the Beast. 
He had no clue what was going to happen, despite my constant hyped up screeching “we’re going to the theatre!” but he seemed happy none the less.

theatre selfie!

Being only 14 months old I thought that his first theatre trip would be a little while in the future yet, sitting still and keeping quiet are not his strong points. But after hearing that the show was only an hour long and also how many other families were taking little ones I wanted to give it a try.
I am so glad I did! G had an absolutely fantastic time! He was singing, dancing and clapping along, he barely wriggled or tried to get away at all. Which is almost a miracle I can tell you!

  

There’s a very good reason for him being so drawn into the incredibly talented production of one of my favourite Disney films. It was hard to remember that this was an amateur cast, let alone a junior cast.

There was not a weak link in the cast. The vocals were fantastic, the acting was superb, and the comedy delivered perfectly. Everyone from the leading princess, to the little teacup, and every one of the chorus members were brilliant.  

  

There were only two pieces of scenery, which could rotate to help create the different places. It’s the least set I’ve ever seen in a show, but looking round I could see the audience were completely enthralled and didn’t seem to struggle at all with where each scene was taking place.

  

There wasn’t any lighting, which was what I was expecting from a daytime show, but there was some use of the smoke machine to help with the darker scenes such as when Belle’s Dad was traveling through the woods. 
G’s favourite “special effect” was without a doubt the bubbles during ‘Be Out Guest’, his shouts were extra loud during that bit!

  

I can’t single anyone of the cast out by name as they were all so good I feel like I’d have to share the whole cast list so as not to leave anyone out! They captured my imagination completely, to the point I was crying by the time they took their bows (I then cried a bit more because I remembered they were only young and was so impressed!) I’m a bit of a soppy git sometimes 😀 

  

Would I recommend you go see this? Can you guess by now? YES! Take your kids, grandkids, nieces, nephews, cousins…or even just yourself! You won’t regret it! 
Tickets are selling fast so get yours quick. They’re only £8 each or a family ticket for 4 is £25. 
Will you be going to see the show? Let me know if you enjoy it as much as I did!

Mrs H xxx
*disclaimer – I was given a free ticket for the purposes of a review. All opinions are my own* 

Show photos from KEITH J. STANBURY


One thought on “Beauty and the Beast – Everyman Festival

Leave a Reply

