Holiday Wish List – Airport Edition

In 7 weeks we are jetting off on our first family holiday abroad! I am so excited to get us all (grandparents included) into the sunshine, it’s nearly all I can think of! What to wear, what to take, what to pack, and now it’s getting closer, I feel that I can justify all the over thinking and list making!

G’s wardrobe for the week is almost completely sorted thanks to Marks and Spencer, Mothercare (and a very lovely Nanny!), including a new swimsuit and matching swim hat. Just a few bits and pieces and he’ll be sorted. My weekly wardrobe is on hold until closer to the time, due to the weight I’m trying to lose, so I want to see how that goes before I buy anything new. However I’m pretty sure there’s enough in the attic that I don’t fit into (at the moment – let’s hope that changes!).

So for now I’m mainly thinking airport. Travel outfits, carryon bags and what to pack in them are filling my head!

IMG_2086-0

Carryon bag – Why are there no rucksack style nappy bags!? I think a rucksack is going to be the best option for airport travel, no risk of it slipping off my shoulder whilst running for the gate! Now I know you’ll probably say “why not just use a normal rucksack?” and I haven’t ruled it out, but I love all the sections of my messenger nappy bag, and how easy the side pockets make reaching for a bottle etc, so I’ve really been searching for a rucksack style nappy bag. But I’ve only found ONE on eBay!! It’s the made in china kind, which isn’t a bad thing, but you can never see the quality before it arrives. I also can’t believe that I can’t find anything in any shops or online that in the UK! If you know something I’m missing, please let me know!

IMG_2082-0

Baby travel outfit – Our flight is at 7am, which means we’ll be leaving the house to get there at about 4am. So I’m thinking it’s going to be more pj/comfy style, but I’d like to layer it up a bit more than just babygrow. I’m still looking for THE outfit, but I’m liking a joggers and t-shirt combo, so that it’s comfy enough to sleep in, but doesn’t look totally like pjs. Then I’m hoping to get an onesie (more adult type styled) to go over the top, and some comfy soft soled shoes/slippers. Hopefully this will keep G cosy but stylish!

IMG_2087-0

Carrier – In my perfect airport scenario, G will sleep from car to check in, and wake up at his normal time, mid flight. Ok, I’m not deluded, I know that this is unlikely and I’ll probably be chasing him around the waiting area until we board, but I’m taking a carrier just in case perfection can be achieved! We have a Papoozle carrier, which I love, but I’m dreaming of something a bit sturdier for the holiday. My dream product is the new Ergo 360. I’ve heard great things about the original ergo, but the fact that this one can face out and still keep baby in an ergonomic position and less likely to cause hip dysplasia is fantastic news for this mumma and her nosey little guy! I know this would be great for day trips whilst on holiday, and when we’re home too. But as great as this product sounds, it comes with a fairly hefty price tag! So for now I’m still on the search for something else (and sad that Ergobaby’s comp for a 360 is open to US residents only!).

So those are the 3 main things I’m thinking of for the airport. Next is to start thinking of what to pack in that carry on (hopefully stylish rucksack!).

What are your travel dream products? What do I need to think about packing? Any tips or tricks?

Mrs H xxx

Leave a Reply

