Banana Bread

Lovely Mr H bought me a bag of green bananas; I’m slightly odd and will only eat them if they’re at least green at the ends. Only I forgot about them. And by the time I remembered, they were yellow (the horror!) with brown spots (yuck!!) and I felt guilty for wasting bananas (again). So I raided the web and found the easiest recipes for Banana Bread, and come up with this, which is basically a combination of a few, based on what ingredients I had in the house. Bonus is that I’m unlikely to cave in and eat it because it has over ripe bananas in it! So it was a win win. I’ve never made it before, and was so excited that it seemed to turn out edible that I quickly dished it out to the family, forgetting to take a photo! So if you can just imagine a brownish loaf cake that smells like cake and banana…yup that’s it!

Ingredients

3 over ripe bananas

1/3 cup melted butter

1 cup sugar

1 ½ cups self raising flour

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp bicarbonate soda

Large pinch salt

Method

Preheat oven to 175oC

In a large bowl, mash the bananas until mostly smooth, and then stir in the melted butter

Mix in the bicarb and salt, and then mix in the sugar, egg and vanilla.

Fold in the flour.

Pour batter into a greased loaf tin (or be lazy like me and use the paper liners)

Bake for 50 minutes to an hour

Remove from oven and leave to cool

Serve to hungry family and take all compliments!

Enjoy!

Mrs H xxx

Leave a Reply

