Weekly Wishes 28th July 2014

The Nectar Collective

It’s been a lovely week; I love the summer sunshine! It seems to have been a few years since we’ve had a proper summer in the UK, with sunshine and warmth that lasts more than a week or two. There’s been a few firsts for little G this week too.

Me and G went for a walk around Roath Park Lake with my Mum, including a chippy tea and ice cream from the ice cream van. It was a beautiful evening, despite the scary geese! Slightly irrational, but they’re not the friendliest and they always seem to come after me!

Friday, I got the chance to go and watch the show Mr H was working on all week. I know I’m biased, but he is so good at what he does, and I love that I get a chance to watch. Lighting designer is not a common job.

Saturday we got to squeeze in a family afternoon in our garden, before Mr H had to go to work for the evening. We spent the afternoon enjoying the fresh summer air (under the protection of our gazebo) and in our pool. G even had his first dip in the pool it was so warm. Nap time out in the fresh air seemed to last longer too.

Saturday evening I finally managed to complete one of my wishes from a few weeks ago! Swapping over the winter and summer wardrobes, and putting them away. The upstairs of our house finally looks a lot clearer; the war on clothes is being won!

Yesterday we took G on his first mini road trip. Ok it was only a two hour drive, but it’s longer than he’s ever had to travel before, and it’s the same journey we’ll be taking in September for our first family holiday. Mr H’s parents have been camping in West Wales over the weekend, so we drove down and spent some time with them. It’s such a beautiful part of the world, and extra beautiful in this glorious sunshine. G got to wiggle his toes in the sand for the first time too.

And today is the biggest ‘first’ for G. All of the daytime naps were in his cot! We are literally squeezing in as much time in his Moses basket as we can, as we’re going camping next week and a full sized travel cot is too big for now. Despite my frantic ebaying, I haven’t managed to find a smaller travel cot. Don’t suppose I have enough traffic on this blog to start reviewing products yet! They say babies should stay in their Moses baskets for six months, and I know G is a tall baby, but really? Six months? I don’t see how!

Write a decent twitter bio – I’m not sure how ‘decent’ it is, but there’s a bio now, and I’ve actually had a few more followers this week. I don’t know if that’s a coincidence, but it can’t hurt!

Look for a new blog theme – I didn’t get round to looking during the week, and I wanted to get this post written first, then I’m going to have a quick look at changing it.

Try a new craft or recipe – I’ve started the initial decor I wanted to do for G’s room, and I’ve started knitting for his Christmas jumper. Yes I know I said the ‘C’ word, but if I don’t start now it’ll never get done. Even starting now it might not!

Start reading a book – technically I have. I’ve started reading ‘Not In the Flesh’ by Ruth Rendell. I say technically, but I’ve hardly got past the first page…but at least it’s a start!

This week:

Post more in the week! – the weeks just seem to be going so fast, that I’m forgetting any weekday posts, just catching up on the Monday. Spread it out!

And that’s all I’m going to ‘wish’ for this week. Concentrate on blogging more!

Hope your week has been great too!

Mrs H xxx

Leave a Reply

